DUIs

Stig

Veteran XX
Greetings tw residents.

Out of absolute frustration with the police, and pure love for all you assholes, I wanted to pass on some information about dealing with the police if you are pulled over and investigated for a DUI. I'm sure some of you already know this stuff.

Foreword: I'm an attorney in California, not other places, most of my advice comes from here, though some of it applies to other states:

DUI's are damn expensive, and I don't necessarily agree that everyone who has a blood alcohol content of .08 or more is impaired. I also think the attempt of several states to lower that level to a .05 is horseshit, and another way for local and state governments to collect taxes (dressed up in criminal penalties). Furthermore, you can be found guilty of a DUI if you are UNDER the legal limit under a catch all charging provision in most states (in California: Vehicle Code 23152(a)), so don't think you are safe from prosecution because you are under the legal limit...not necessarily true.

So, there are some legal standards and rights you need to know about:

1) 'Reasonable Suspicion' to stop you.

Cop's need to justify why they pulled you over: if they can't articulate they had reasonable suspicion you've commited a violation of the law while driving, the entire case will be thrown out. Unfortunately for the public, it's an extremely low standard, and about any traffic infraction will do. That said: here are some issues that come up:

Driving too 'slow': it's only a violation of the law to drive under the posted speed limit if you are obstructing other traffic. This means: if it's late at night, and there are two lanes going in the same direction, and you're in the slow lane, the cop can't use the fact you are going slow (because he, or other vehicles can drive around you)

Failing to put on your turn signal: you only have to do this if other traffic is nearby you.