[IT] Certification Thread

.dave.

Veteran X
So ive been going through my paces, in the last month ive gotten a+ and mcp certified.

If anyone else is going after their a+, net+,mcp, mcsa or mcse let me know. I have some good resources for you.

A+ 601 (840/900) A+ 602 (875/900), MCP(70-270) (889/1000).

Wewtz.

Going after my 70-290 now.

Also post your current certifications and how long it took you to achieve it.

I know im going after my MCSE, I work in the healthcare industry but i almost have no clue where i want to go with the organization, we have so many damn choices.

CPA - 2 yrs work experience + 4 months exam prep
CISA - 5 yrs work experience + 1 week exam prep
CISSP - 5 years work experience + 2 months exam prep

Got A+, Network+, MCSA on 2000
Certs really do work. You can't replace a degree (I am still in school) but I am 21 years old making 47k a year.

I've been

Network engineer - site infrastructure - fiber/microwave backbone design - a bit of Cisco and its archaic OS...
Windows NT/2000/2003 Server admin - AD
Exchange 5.5/2003
Citrix Server Admin
Novell Admin (Groupwise, etc)
Desktop break/fix
Tech Writer

...and not a single cert...

...though I am signing up for classes at our local junior college for the fall in the IT/Biz Admin area.

Last edited:
1/2 way through getting my CPA
then maybe ill get some of those that Xion has or not who knows. I didnt know cisa and cissp took 5 years work experience

The on the job experience counts more. The certs are just a bunch of acronyms that show your brain knows how to work.

Is this your monthly certification thread Dave?

290 and 291 are a lot harder than 270. I suggest you prepare.

edit: