say im poor as shit, but i want to batch cook something relativly healthy

nada

Veteran X
hear me out, then laugh at me or whatever

im a college student. basically i overspent a shitload of money on women and alcohol and i have too much pride to ask my parents to reup (obviously i've done this before). i can get through this but i need your help. all non-essential spending is on hold but even the essentials need to be cut down. one could say i was previously eating nicely. now i cant afford it.

i need some dishes i can throw together - maybe 2 meals a day - that will keep me healthy. i have long long long days at school so i cant be passing out cuz all im eating is cup o noodles. im thinking something like a huge ass batch of letil soup with some chopped veggies for lunch AND dinner multiple times a week. how i feel about the food it is ultimately unimportant.

so again, dishes i can cook up and throw in some containers and bring in for lunch and dinner on the cheap, while still getting all the essential nutrients. taste is unimportant.

now i know soem of you ahve some depression/wwII era survivor parents that taught you a few tricks, so lay em down boys.

Chicken, rice, vegetable soup.

Grill up chicken in advance for a few days, keep it in the fridge. Rice, same shit. Vegetable soup speaks for itself.

I live off pb&j, ham/turkey & cheese, honey bunches of oats/raisin bran, and fruits & veggies thrown in here and there. I usually dont spend more than 20 bucks and manage to feed my room mate and I for a couple weeks. Havent had scurvy or lost too much weight

It's very difficult to eat healthy on a budget. Real nutrition is expensive.

What's your daily budget?
i try to think weekly. i was spending about $80 on groceries a week. most of that wasnt snacks, insofar as i only snacked cuz i ate small meals. but i was eating whatever i wanted. i feel like i can get that to half. im in nyc btw, so maybe its not as important to talk money but the actual products.