\r

Mr Jimmy Pop

Contributor
Veteran XX
This little fucker kicked my ass for 2 days.

An upgraded CNC controller dropped RS-232 functionality, so I had to try and use TCP/IP to send words to the laser to change its parameters etc. my test program had no issues sending the words to putty or hyperterminal, and putty and hyperterminal had no problem sending words to laser. But couldn’t get program to send words to laser.

SocketWriteString($clientSocket, "RERR")
Wouldn’t work

SocketWriteString($clientSocket, "RERR\r”)
Worked.

Fucking carriage return!! Learning code on the fly at 60 is FUn

Tomorrow’s task is to learn to make a program that sends a command to the laser and display its reply so that when it sets a parameter like pulse width “SPW 15\r” that it confirms to operator that it is set. I’ve never worked with TCP/IP before or C# or whatever this Aeroscript is based on. Just another hurdle I’ll get over. Once I get this working, I’ll have a good template for these systems.

The next laser I integrate only has serial communications, so I will need to use a Rs-232/TCP emulator.

I love my job, learn something new almost everyday. I do all the integration, so I have no one to guide me. Manufacturers help a little, but only a little.

i dont get to fuck around w/ lasers but i do get to fuck around with software integration and nicotine levels

lasers sound more fun

i dont get to fuck around w/ lasers but i do get to fuck around with software integration and nicotine levels

lasers sound more fun