Please critique my crappy song

Felonius

Veteran XV
------ EXCUSE SECTION BEGINS HERE ------

I just started on this track a few days ago. It's my first attempt at a progressive rock tune.

------ EXCUSE SECTION ENDS HERE ------

I hope to add vocals in the near future.

LISTEN TO MY CRAPPY SONG: Somber

:wave:

imager.php

I like the tone you use at 1:30 a lot better and think it should just be that way all the way through.

The instrumentation sounds a bit cheesy (8-bit nintendo-ish) but it doesn't sound like a badly composed song.

Kind of A Perfect Circle-esque.

Also, that weird jump up at 1:16 is... weird.

I like the tone you use at 1:30 a lot better and think it should just be that way all the way through.

The instrumentation sounds a bit cheesy (8-bit nintendo-ish) but it doesn't sound like a badly composed song.

Kind of A Perfect Circle-esque.

Thanks for checking it out. At 1:30 is live guitar, whereas the rest of the lead parts are done with a poorly configured synth. I'm new to synths in general, and there's a lot I can do to improve the sound of the sampled instruments.

I'm going to replace all of the guitars with real ones (the acoustic guitar, electric rhythm guitar, and solo guitar)... I'll probably still have some keys and piano in there but more in a background role.

It reminds me of when people used to put music on their webpage back in the day. Also, this one Mega Man game that my cousin used to play all the time. I could definitely fall asleep to this though.

ill only comment on the song from a production standpoint.

my first critique is cut low bass frequencies from instruments/drums/anything that don't use those frequencies -- cut the bass freq's even if you can't hear them.. because the speaker will still try to play them. cut them until it affects the quality of the sound, then edge it back down some.