[In the bag] One year as a criminal defense attorney

Stig

Veteran XX
Prior to being an attorney, I had a fairly positive opinion of law enforcement. I feel privileged to call a number of them friends. But what an eye opener this has been. I've realized that:

1) Cops will lie in their arrest reports and on the stand to justify warrantless arrests and searches. It happens more than I ever imagined possible. Civilians are generally screwed in such circumstances because a cop's word seems to be given more weight over an accused's word. And, even if I have video evidence of a direct lie, the prosecution won't file perjury charges on the cop (which is infuriating) cops seem to get away with false testimony with utter impunity.

2) (imo) if I were to rate cops from worst to best, I would say Police, Sheriffs, then Highway Patrol.

3) If you are being investigated for a crime, or worse yet, have been arrested, don't talk to cops. It won't help you. If you have been arrested, it does you absolutely no good: wait to talk to a public defender, a private defense attorney, or a defense investigator. Cops collect evidence - if they arrested you, they already made a judgment call that you are guilty that will likely result in criminal charges. Nervous people (ie those under intense auspision) can often make innocent mistakes when it comes to describing exact dates or times under questioning, and a cop who thinks you are guilty is often going to write his/her report in such a biased tone to highlight any inconsistencies to secure a conviction.

In sum: if you got arrested, don't say shit. You can't talk yourself out of it - what's done is done. The burden is on the prosecution to prove you guilty beyond a reasonable doubt, don't open your mouth to someone that isn't required by law to keep your confidences (ie attorney-client privilege)