Civ games: Which to buy? (if any)

Joft

Veteran X
Well hello there TW,

I just read 56 amazon reviews and got the following impressions

Civ 4: Pretty graphics, actual game not as good as Civ 3. Gameplay is simpler than Civ 3? This could be a good thing since I'm a newbie to the franchise and I'd like this to be a game my girlfriend could play too and she's not a very good gamer.

Civ 3 & 4: Apparently the computer cheats (i.e. "random" outcomes favor the AI). And you can invest 5 hours into a game only to find out that the important resource (oil?) is in another country and therefore your game is over, start again.

4+bts

edit bts may or may not require warlords i dont recall but warlords is meh

but 4+bts is def the answer

if oil is in another country (resources are not discovered on the map until you research necessary tech) make war for oil holler

If you've never played a Civilization game before I say Civ4 is the perfect start. Good tutorial and a good presentation will make it easier to learn for you. I think the other games had a much steeper learning curve.

Yes, as you work your way down the tech tree you may find that an important resource (Oil, rubber, uranium) is in another county but if that really necessitates you restarting the game I don't think you understand the concept behind a strategy game. If a resource you need is in another country you can try to take it over or try to trade for it. It's not like you're completely locked out of getting it. Even if you troops are completely outclassed you can usually build a ton of the weaker units cheaper and try to overwhelm them. Also you can always cheat and open up the world editor and add the resource to your territory.

I just bought 3 on steam because it only cost $5.

Tangential question: Is it possible to play the same game with steam on 2 separate computers at the same time? (to play multiplayer with gf) or is that considered piracy and thus blocked?