anyone take a computer science course before?

bud

Veteran X
if so, how did you pass it? i'm very new to this whole programming thing. my class revolves around the C language, which i understand is the most basic of them all.

however my teacher is an off the boat asian who probably knows C better than he knows english.

is there any 'easy' way to learn this shit? or am i gonna have to struggle with the textbook to get myself a good grade..

If it's an intro programming course, it's probably going to be really simplistic. Get a "Teach Yourself C" or "C for Dummies" book, something like that, and supplement the class with that.

fb said:
If it's an intro programming course, it's probably going to be really simplistic. Get a "Teach Yourself C" or "C for Dummies" book, something like that, and supplement the class with that.

its not intro to programming, the official name is "computer science I"..

i would take intro to programming but i'm pretty confident it would be a waste of money/time... as most of the stuff in those types of classes are very redundant.

i guess i could get one of those books, but some of them are 100000 pages and not very well organized. any specific reccomendations?

Using C++: An Introduction to Programming: Second Edition
Hennefield, Baker, Burchard

It was my textbook for my C++ class last spring. Well done, even though I already knew most of the material. Should help a newbie out pretty well.

blech

I took an intro to programming course in college

dropped it 6 weeks later

I spent like 9 hours writing a program that converted decimals into roman numerals....and I sat there and though "fuck this shit, I don't wanna do this with my life"

Special---K said:
blech

I took an intro to programming course in college

dropped it 6 weeks later

I spent like 9 hours writing a program that converted decimals into roman numerals....and I sat there and though "fuck this shit, I don't wanna do this with my life"

jesus. so what did you end up doing?