[Taxes] US Citizen in Canada

Amazon Jim

Veteran X
I have a job offer to work in Canada for a few months, how does the tax situation work? Taxes in Canada suck a lot but how do I get them back with my US tax form or what percentage can I get back - I will be working as an employee for a Canadian company.

eh

:wave:

Anyone with experience here?

You have to pay the taxes in Canada. You will be credited for it when you pay taxes in the US but you have to do it yourself. If you neglect to file the apropriate information you will be taxed double.

Uhhh are they actually going to withhold anything? That would be kinda dumb since you don't have a SIN. I'd link you to the booklet, but I already did my taxes this year (working from canada but us citizen too) but I didn't have canadian withholding since I play poker for a living and I don't remember the link on foreign country wages and shit.

If you work for an American company, they are going to report your wages to the IRS anyways. Even if you don't, I have heard that many of the developed nations still share this type of data with each other regarding expats living in their county.

You can tell your employer not to deduct income tax. As for the other taxes they are automatic but you can file to have them refunded.

Better yet though stay on your side of the border and stop stealing our jobs you filthy american.

You can tell your employer not to deduct income tax. As for the other taxes they are automatic but you can file to have them refunded.

Better yet though stay on your side of the border and stop stealing our jobs you filthy american.

That's what I was thinking (about taxes).