So I started playing X-Com...

Toaster

Veteran XV
...on advice from Kurayami.

And I suck. Badly.

I can get started decently, but then I always either go a full month without seeing a UFO and everyone starts hating me, or I run into a terror site that totally owns me every time I try it. I read Ben Reed's miniguide, but it's only partly done.

When do I start a second base, and what do I put there? What order should I research things? Should I try for laser weapons before I get plasma, because plasma seems to take forever to research. When should I get better aircraft?

This game is fun, but I suck.

Welcome to about 8 years ago..

Heh.

You need a second base, and I'd put it in roughly the opposite side of the world.

Also, go for radar (or whatever it's called, been a long time since I played)

Whichever station you build that helps detect UFOs.. build a better one (or another one).

Obibun said:
Welcome to about 8 years ago..

About 12 actually.

Rule #1 for UFO (fuck TFTD et al): Save early and often.

Otherwise, per your questions, avoid laser entirely and research your way to plasma. Rocket Launcher and other heavy weapons are good for a while until you get the plas rifles rolling.

wtfs, when learning save every 5 minutes (rofl, wrote this before seeing rilke's reply)

my 2nd base was always in europe, lots of money there

japan china too i think

first build storage and living quarters if you wanna jack your scientists/engineers out of money

i normally go with skyranger befre interceptors. responding to terror sites was more important to me than shotting shit down. my ints couldn't shoot down the bigger ships anyways.

**the only thing i'd add is research laser after your immediate needs are met. i believe the craft laser is the biggest moneymaker as far as eng/hrs vs profit go.