[Overclock] i7 860 @ 4ghz - is this cool?

OriGiNaL

Contributor
Veteran XX
I'm pretty new to overclocking. I tried to spend my money on stuff that would be favorable to overclocking. I have the Asus Maximus III board, i7 860, Dark Knight CPU cooler, etc...

Anyway I OC'd this bitch and I have it running at 4ghz. I put it into Prime, ran a full load and it never went above 72 degrees (C). At idle I'm hovering around 33 degrees in windows.

My stats to overclock were:
BCLK: 191
Multiplier: 21
VTT/DRAM: 1.4
PLL: 1.925

So assuming I have a stable overclock and my temps remain the same, is this pretty safe to keep my system at?

in a month you're going to wonder why you did this

This is actually a good point. Again, I'm a total newb with this shit. I figured I would get better FPS in shit like Bad Company 2? Or am I being stupid? Will I notice any difference between this and just leaving it all stock?

:|

This is actually a good point. Again, I'm a total newb with this shit. I figured I would get better FPS in shit like Bad Company 2? Or am I being stupid? Will I notice any difference between this and just leaving it all stock?

i doubt you would be able to tell the difference if you didnt have an fps calculator honestly

I figured I would get better FPS in shit like Bad Company 2?

this would only be possible with a complete client-side overhaul of your onboard graphical RAMDACs.

in combination of with to your memory overhaul, it would be mostly simplistic to underclock your ram in an attempt to free up system resources to more effectively cater to the needs of the RAMDAC

this would only be possible with a complete client-side overhaul of your onboard graphical RAMDACs.

in combination of with to your memory overhaul, it would be mostly simplistic to underclock your ram in an attempt to free up system resources to more effectively cater to the needs of the RAMDAC