Let's build a $1,200 - $1,500 Guitar Rig

GreasyBoy

Veteran XX
I'm going to start my guitar rig soon, and since I play a wide range and don't have much money to spend I need to get the most bang for my buck. I play everything from older metal like 80's Metallica to punk like Butthole Surfers or Circle Jerks to blues Clapton/SRV to softer ambient/super-processed like Robin Guthrie of the Cocteau Twins. I am not a shredder. I do play lead, slower melodic stuff along the lines of Gilmour except not as good but primarily rhythm.

I need an amp/modeling and effects floor and/or rack. Hardware only. I've been using Amplitube for 4 years now but I need a rig sans computer for gigging. 2x10, 2x12 or 4x10.

I'd just like to hear how some others would spend the money and experiences with some gear. Am I really going to be happy with a Line 6 Vetta or Spider Valve, or do I wait and get a Fractal & 50w THD Flexi-50?

Why would you need both the Fractal and the THD head? Doesn't the Fractal offer all the preamp you need? I would think that the axeFX and a power amp/powered speaker would suffice and be more affordable.

Why would you need both the Fractal and the THD head? Doesn't the Fractal offer all the preamp you need? I would think that the axeFX and a power amp/powered speaker would suffice and be more affordable.

I was being facetious but that should have said OR not &.

I got to use an AxeFX for two months and it was a very cool gadget, but I think I'd have to be a guitarist only to justify that expense. The guy who bought it got it for $2,500 but couldn't figure it out/wasn't good at getting tones he wanted so he let me borrow it.