I'm new to the endgame, what should I do for starters? (gear-related mostly)

Ben Reed

Veteran X
Hey all,

This weekend I will finally be hitting level 60 on my main (a Warrior on Illidan) for the first time, and while I have a general idea of where I'm headed from there, I'd appreciate any advice you might have.

For starters, which raid dungeon is the easiest of the bunch, and what kind of gear do I need for it besides the general rule of "don't go wearing nothing but crappy greens"? (I'm assuming ZG is easiest for raid newbies, but correct me if I'm wrong.)

Also, what other gear should I add to my instance-run "shopping list"? So far I'm looking at:

- FR gear (which I don't know much about...what kind of stuff should I stay away from, and what kind of stuff should I go for? Do I need to hit up the AH for my FR gear needs, or can I load up on a decent amount of stuff from instances like DM/UBRS/etc.?)

- Valor set
- Golem Skull Helm
- A new, non-crappy 2H sword...best I've been able to manage so far is a 179-200-something dmg 2h sword with +30 attack power.

Basically, just give me the rundown of the bare minimum gear needed to ease my way into endgame raiding.

- don't be too worried about FR gear before you get to do rag
- i don't think it's worth bothering to collect valor items unless you really need to replace some crappy greens until you get something better. golem skull helm is good, try to get other defense stuff as well, that's what matters. crystal encrusted greaves and cenarion reservist's legplates are quite decent, they're from a raid quest in silithus. deathbone chestplate from scholo is good too. evil eye pendant from dm, some blue def shoulders from dm (have int too, heh), draconian deflector is a must, and so on. you can also get some +15 def legplates from brd.
- if you really want a sword you could always consider trying to get darkstone claymore. drops from a duke in silithus.