Help me pick out a crotch rocket.

-[ENIG]ma-

Veteran XX
I've been stuck at home the past 5 weeks recovering from ankle surgery (which was a failure and I will need to go back and have another surgery soon) and doing a lot of work from home. I landed a big contract and have money I would like to spend on a sport bike.

I am still a beginner, I have a hundred or so hours on dirt bikes and maybe 20 hours on my friend's sport bike and I would like some advice from TW as to what bike would be good to learn on and of course having fun on.

I am looking at a bike in the 600CC category, under $10k.

So far the CBR600RR and the GSX-R600 top my list, however I have been told by a few people that I should get either the SV650 or FZ6 as a beginners bike for a couple years.

Edit: just in case this helps get some responses
[semi nws]
http://www.teenplanet.org/images/slumberatc/040_camerapix005.jpg
http://www.teenplanet.org/images/slumberatc/040_camerapix002.jpg
[/semi nws]

Last edited:
Yeah, get the SV650.

Or be totally cool and get a Triumph Thruxton 900. But then again, they're not a dime-a-dozen or really that fast, so you might not like it.

Well, I'm a triumph man.

but if I got a honda, i'd get an f4i. SV650 is nice. Good to "start on".

GSX-R might be a bit much. But, thats for you to decide.

gg.

Yeah, get the SV650.

Or be totally cool and get a Triumph Thruxton 900. But then again, they're not a dime-a-dozen or really that fast, so you might not like it.

jesus. I thought I was the only person that loved the thruxton. Will be my bike in a bit.

I keep hearing these are pretty dope rides
vespa,%20hoyre.jpg

I'm sure someone with some real experience will chime in, but I've always heard it's best to buy a used first bike to get some experience instead of dropping a new bike.

Yamaha YFZ R6 .... best bike for the money ... and i know you nig ... if you get a beginner bike you will want to trade it in in 2 months.