Guitar players: Getting rid of the dreaded buzz....

Drudge

Veteran X
I've been playing for a bit now but never really learned to setup the guitar. I have a nice and cheap epi lp special. I was changing the strings and noticed that the second string buzzes pretty noticeably. I've tried to avoid messing with the action up until now but it's irritating enough where I need to do something about it.
Do I want to be lowering or raising the strings (Is this even what I need to do?) I'm a newb when it comes to this.

Go to a shop and get it set up for $20 and another $10 for new strings

They'll probably lower the action which means you won't be able to use the whammy but it'll be 10x easier and funner to play

It'll also stay in tune longer

Best $20 you'll ever spend

i would get some 10 gauge strings and see about getting a new string seperator for the headstock. sometimes those wear down and leave the strings too close to the frets.

buzz can be caused by pickups, the amp, the strings or alot of other things. i would start with the cheapest option (strings), and work your way up. pickups are usually the culprit though.

Last edited:
it is your action or pickups. you should be able to tell if your strings are too low--naturally if thats the case then it is the action.

FireStorm! said:

They'll probably lower the action which means you won't be able to use the whammy but it'll be 10x easier and funner to play

If you don't know what you should be doing, do this. But while you there ask them if you can watch (if they're not uber busy, of course).

FireStorm! said:

This man knows what he is talking about.

Most guitar players aren't guitar techs, and god knows i don't wanna be one. I can change strings and thats about it. I would prefer to spend 20 bucks and have it sound great, then spend 4 days trying to fix my fuck ups.