Absinthe off the internet

It was determined at UVAlan that it's not worth it. Just way too many fucking parts for pretty much nothing it promises.

It was determined at UVAlan that it's not worth it. Just way too many fucking parts for pretty much nothing it promises.

i remember some long thread here about absinthe, are you sure you got the good stuff?

i've had some craaazy experiences while drinking absinthe, i don't know about the 'promises' you've heard but it sure lived up to its reputation to me. Sure, its not LSD or something, but what i had was definitely a lot more potent than normal alcohol and the buzz/effect was fairly different. I dunno what kind of absinthe it was - something a buddy brought back from europe years ago.

I think it's one of those things you should try at least once, but not anything i'd want to do on a regular basis. In fact, it's probably something i'd never drink again.... but it was definitely worth it at the time.

Anyone know any good sites to get real absinthe for a good price?

Regulations
Currently, most countries do not have a legal definition of absinthe (unlike, for example, Scotch whisky or cognac). Therefore, manufacturers can label a product "absinthe" or "absinth", regardless of whether it matches the traditional definition. Due to many countries never banning absinthe, not every country has regulations specifically governing it.

[edit] Australia and New Zealand
Bitters can contain a maximum 35 mg/kg thujone, other alcoholic beverages can contain a maximum 10 mg/kg[23] of thujone. In Australia import and sales requires a special permit.

[edit] Canada