[Reminder] Fix voting system

Amadeus

Veteran XX
I've just stumbled upon some old screenshots I took back in the MP demo (after release), and found some interesting chat logs:

logs.gif

Now I'm not a pro in game design, but when a crappy voting system plays a major role in turning people off from buying the game, I think it's time for a redesign.

Yes, this has been said a million times before, but I it's just too damn important.

"No" vote != no vote

Let us differentiate between the two.

If implementing a yes/no voting system is too much of a hassle, they could even just improve on the current system by showing how many votes have been cast out of how many are required - ie. everytime someone casts a vote to kick, it shows "X (0 TKs) has voted to kick Y (10 TKs) (3 votes of 10 required)" - all this information should already be available, I don't think it would take much coding.

How quickly people forget...

Don't get me wrong, I did like T2s system better, but it's being looked back at with a light brighter than it was. There were several issues with it that could be improved on.

It was simple for people to simply log off then back on to avoid kick/ban votes. You could start votes against members of the other team simply to get rid of them. The time-outs often ment people would just miss the vote because they were too busy or didn't notice. TKers could spam votes and lock the system so people weren't able to start legit votes.

T:V's system does adress some of these issues... but something else should be looked at and NOT just bring back T2 voting. Improve on the past, don't emulate it!

BitRaiser said:
It was simple for people to simply log off then back on to avoid kick/ban votes. You could start votes against members of the other team simply to get rid of them. The time-outs often ment people would just miss the vote because they were too busy or didn't notice. TKers could spam votes and lock the system so people weren't able to start legit votes.