what's the difference between blackholes and wormholes?

Fancy Cat

Contributor
Veteran XX
the quick and easy answer?

i was never a physics buff, that's why i majored in economics.

i am just curious.

ownnig.jpg

I don't know.. but at a guess i would say a black hole sucks matter into it, and just like super compacts it down. Where as a worm hole sorta links to parts of space. Are they even real however? I think they are just stuff of movies (worms that is).

a wormhole is a tear in time-space theoretically allowing travel over great distances. a black hole is a dead star sucking in everything that gets near it with gravity including light

Beren said:
I don't know.. but at a guess i would say a black hole sucks matter into it, and just like super compacts it down. Where as a worm hole sorta links to parts of space. Are they even real however? I think they are just stuff of movies (worms that is).

hmmm...so blackholes just suck matter and light in via their massive gravitational pull, and wormholes apperently "fold" space?

i guess that could be the difference.

Flyersfan-PIE said:
a wormhole is a tear in time-space theoretically allowing travel over great distances. a black hole is a dead star sucking in everything that gets near it with gravity including light

how do you tear time/space? or rather, how does it get torn?

the real question is:

why are you asking this? are you trying to pick up a girl from nasa or something?

Beren said:
black hole is, wormhole isn't.

they used to think a black hole (sucks stuff in) and white hole (opposite of black hole, spits stuff out) would make a wormhole, where you get sucked in one end and out the other.

Though they proved that only black holes exist, white holes and worm holes don't.