[Rogue] combat swords vs combat daggers

Divine

Veteran XV
Hi,

I'm new to WoW and am playing a Rogue as my main. I was wondering what all of you guys' thoughts were about swords vs. daggers. Also, would it be worth my while to macro a weapon switch + backstab if I go combat swords?

Combat daggers doesn't exist, it's a dead spec (thank god).

Need some more information about what you're planning to do before I can give you a good answer.

pessi what do you make of blizzard's stance on rogues vs dps warriors? It seems almost like they want dps warriors to do more damage than rogues...

in which case, why make a rogue?

I'm planning on doing a lot of raiding, hopefully. Maybe eventually I'll branch out into PvP, but for now I'm trying to level up to 70 and get through some raids before WOTLK.

For raiding, your options are Mutilate (51/5/5) or Combat Swords (5/51/5).

Technically, my HaT lol-sub spec is viable as well, but I'm assuming you aren't already in a raid guild, and you'd get laughed at immediately if you app'd as Sub.

At 70, CSwords is marginally better on things that aren't murderable, Mutilate on things that are. In either case, they're very close, so spec for whichever you have weapons for.

At 80, Mutilate pulls forward more and is generally in front regardless of the target.

Since you seem to be leveling to 70 now, and will be leveling from 70 to 80 in two weeks, I'd say just stick with combat and don't spec into swords/maces/etc since you never know what gear upgrades you'll be using.

For raiding, your options are Mutilate (51/5/5) or Combat Swords (5/51/5).

Technically, my HaT lol-sub spec is viable as well, but I'm assuming you aren't already in a raid guild, and you'd get laughed at immediately if you app'd as Sub.

At 70, CSwords is marginally better on things that aren't murderable, Mutilate on things that are. In either case, they're very close, so spec for whichever you have weapons for.