Another "wahh my fps" thread.

FishStix

Veteran XV
I'm going to start this thread off saying that I realize that there has been an overwhelming amount of threads that share my PLEA for help. I know you all are tired of people complaining about "wahh the fps sucks wahh..." but those who are "tech suave" I am in dire need. Please don't dismiss my thread. I have a damn good reason for being P.O.'d and I desperately want to play T:V as best I can.

I don't know what to do anymore... so here it goes, I'll leave it up to the brilliance of my fellow TW peers

I can't get good fps. I'm not great with computers, but I am no comp newbie either. I know how to mess with sh!t, and believe me, I have done just that (for hours on end, I might add.)

My Specs:
Pent. 4 WinXP (NOT CELERON)
2.4 Ghz
768 mb ram
Geforce FX 5700 256 mb ddr ram

I turned off vsync/AA
I have tried tweaking some things within the TribesVengeance.ini or whereever it is that you can tweak video settings.

yet when I play T:V in a server with more than 15 people my frames drop to avaragely 18-23 on medium/low settings (doesn't seem to effect performance)... 800x600(doesn't seem to matter either)

Immidiate response: upgrade newb
Answer: I DID upgrade. I just effing bought this card. It should run T:V perfectly.
I know people are going to say "but you didn't get the highest of the high end cards" but I know from word of mouth that this card can run T:V fine, full server, high settings, 50+ fps.

Everyone says run a spyware/adware program, virus checker, etc. I did that, had no affect. Well, now I'm writing this on a BRAND NEW FRESH INSTALL. That's right, i reformatted yesterday.

Install the latest drivers? Why yes, I did. I downloaded everything from motherboard drivers to video card drivers to sound card drivers.

Make sure extra programs aren't running all the time? Nope, the little programs i have downloaded so far I have disabled them on startup by running msconfig.

I messed around with my BIOS.