I'm starting this game tonight

JustinCase

Contributor
What is the first thing I should do

Is there a tw "guild" I can join

I read the beginners guide but even that confuses me

thx

Join the channel "tribalwar" in-game. If you can make it through the first 2 months you'll love the game. Eve's not very beginner friendly. Learning curve is pretty steep.

i just came back. i had previously only played like 6-8 weeks or so, thus im still a noob.

i got into the TW channel and asked questions. i asked a ton of questions in my n00b corp channel.

invest some time/skills in Learning areas, to make further training faster.

ALWAYS HAVE SKILLS TRAINING. get EveMon.

do missions. find "agents" for security/command so that they are combat oriented (more fun).

as you start to get comfortable with basic combat and moving around in eve, you may want to aim for a cruiser class ship and pushing yourself a bit more into level 2 missions (i think that cruisers are L2).

try to find the right balance between doing missions and stopping to salvage crap dropped from stuff you kill.

eventually, at your own comfort level, you may want to head for low security space where most of the TW folks play. you need to be able to handle some of the NPCs in the easier areas tho, before you go. trust me, i went out to low sec a bit too early...

If you can make it through the first 2 months you'll love the game.
I fucking hate when people say shit like that. It comes off as a total disservice to the game and makes it sound like the player will just totally NOT ENJOY the first 2 months, which should not be true at all.

Not really attacking you for saying it, as you're probably just trying to say that the game has a slow ~2-month burn before it really sinks in and hooks you - but I've seen tons of people who are doing a disservice to the game and the community by using lines like that, but in a totally serious and snarky way.

/rant

TseTse throws in some good tips.