Character Training - Gallente Commandships

Shadow13

Contributor
Hey eve fuck-twats.

So as most of you know I have been playing eve for a long time, but have never had a gallente. Recently bought a new toon, and almost done with the base commandship skill to 4, What I am curious about is which mods should I start on for leadership skills? Although I have flown with many command ships they were always in quick attack groups where speed was king, is this still the case?

Skirmish?
armor?

And then after I get those to 4, would in your opinion it be better to go to lvl 5 in those skills for Skirmish spec/armor spec or should I continue on to finishing out my recon training? Also any word on "command ship" style battleships?

thanks for any input.

Last edited:
In all honesty, you'll burn out after doing just one specialized warfare lvl5 skill.

Im a gallente pilot, and I decided that Armored warfare spec is the most important to have at lvl5. The armored mindlink will always give the gang I lead an additional 5% to armor, you just cant ignore that in nearly any engagement, unlike 5% sensor strength, shields, or whater the other is.

While it is true that you might find yourself in a small gang dicking around with an astarte, and everyone might want you to bring a skirmish, you have to remember that the speed nerf is coming up, and that nice skirmish mod bonus to speed is (Im pretty sure) getting taken down by a 1/3, as is several other modules. Making truly care free nano pvp only in the realm of frigates. Not sure you want to be tooling around in a CS with a bunch of AF's, Inty's, and EAS', amirite??? (acronyms for teh win!)

Besides armor, I took the others to lvl4, so I can have a nice wide choice of modules to fit. It wasnt much bother either, esp. after taking the tier one skills to 5 already.

Dont worry too much about not having the fleet commands racial bonus (3% to ewar for gallente, for exp.) The bonus is small fry compared to the mindlink bonus.