TribalWar Forums

TribalWar Forums (http://www.tribalwar.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tribes Talk (http://www.tribalwar.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=239)
-   -   ok so i tried your fixes for install, but wont work (http://www.tribalwar.com/forums/showthread.php?t=690007)

Boney 02-17-2018 17:20

ok so i tried your fixes for install, but wont work
 
hi. played since 01. i tried reinstalling the game from different links in this forum, but when i start tribes it either just starts windowed(and when i try to click the mouse button it disapperas) and in another version i downloaded it only starts in windowed mode and when i click a mouse button, the mouse disappers again.. whats wrong? driving me nuts.

edit: win 10 and a computer more than capable of running the game hardware-wise..

Groove 02-17-2018 17:33

probably the DPI thing talked about here

Tribes Install Thread and Troubleshooting and INTERPOLATE by pancake - Page 2 - TribalWar Forums

Boney 02-17-2018 18:32

Quote:

Originally Posted by Groove (Post 18900870)

thank you! this worked! still, ingame the mouse kinda locks sometimes, or it feels like it.. and when i push "esc" and try to navigate around here it lags like crazy..

Groove 02-17-2018 18:45

sounds like vsync is on, turn it off for all apps in your graphics cards options

[2017] Tribes1 Stuff - Full configs, add-ons and FAQ's by Groove - TribalWar Forums

Quote:

2) Why does Tribes 1 mouse input feel so slow/soupy/wrong/(janky lol)?
- T1's 'VSYNC' setting does not work, and Tribes feels very bad with VSYNC on. turn off VSYNC globally in your graphics card options. If you're only getting 60 FPS in Tribes1, you're gonna have a bad time.

Boney 02-17-2018 18:56

Quote:

Originally Posted by Groove (Post 18900890)
sounds like vsync is on, turn it off for all apps in your graphics cards options

[2017] Tribes1 Stuff - Full configs, add-ons and FAQ's by Groove - TribalWar Forums

its not, i have 1000fps... :P may it be that i have version 1.4? i downloaded several to try and make it work..

Groove 02-17-2018 20:06

1.40 builds should work better on modern hardware but i guess you could try an old 1.30/1.11 config

some graphics cards dont like scriptGL configs :shrug:

or u could be in direct3d instead of openGL or you dont have real graphics card drivers installed and are using the microsoft graphics drivers

or maybe some kind of game-recording software like shadowplay or win10's stupid gamecenter DVR thing

or try the compatibility modes in that same menu with the DPI setting

beyond that idk

win10 seems to be really inconsistent

Plasmatic 02-18-2018 20:54

Try a naked install from my sig.

JayJay 02-19-2018 02:58

:nod:Run as administrator

wtf eat apples 02-19-2018 03:39

dude u need atleast 4ghz cpu and a 1080. i have no problems now

Unhelpful 02-19-2018 05:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by Boney (Post 18900883)
thank you! this worked! still, ingame the mouse kinda locks sometimes, or it feels like it.. and when i push "esc" and try to navigate around here it lags like crazy..

Try the x64 version(just drop the exe into any 1.11/1.30 config) and see if it still does this stuff.

S_hift 02-19-2018 19:25

i know exactly what you're talking about and as mentioned earlier do the following to fix the rouge windowing issue on windows 8.
also windows will default this setting upon all applications on updates

1. right click on tribes.exe (doesn't matter what ****ing version you downloaded)
2. click on properties
3. click on the third tab in the top left called "compatibility"
4. make sure that "disable display scaling on high DPI settings" is CHECKED

wtf eat apples 02-19-2018 23:17

i like sex


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:43.

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2003, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All Content Copyright 1999-2018 Tribalwar.Com, LLC