How much to replace the ac/heater knob?

Blue-Mush
03-23-2009, 04:16 PM
So it used to be super hard to turn the knob from AC to heater and visa versa in my car. So of course it finally breaks and I can't even use plyers to turn the stupid thing.

The AC works fine and the heater works fine it's just the knob and the ability to turn it is what's borked!

Yes I'm a noob about car mechanics. How much would it cost to replace something like this? I live in Texas and the summer is right around the corner. I'm gonna need that AC. I can follow directions pretty easily so if it's simple enough I'd be comfortable in doing it myself.

edit: It's a 2003 Mitsubishi Lancer. Not sure if that matters.

MeSlayer
03-23-2009, 04:19 PM
go windows down you *****!

i did it for a few years in my old car, the a/c never worked

course, my steering wheel did kind of melt in the texas heat - the top did anyway

damn the dark interior!

telos
03-23-2009, 04:54 PM
Shouldn't be hard at all once you find the part. Most of the knobs in my dash (ford explorer) just have plugs on the back so unplug replace knob plug in. :shrug:

take your dash apart and find out.

mjoe
03-23-2009, 04:57 PM
http://www.sonerertim.org/visa.jpg
http://www.autoblog.com/media/2006/01/Versa-Rear-3-4.JPG

Blue-Mush
03-23-2009, 04:58 PM
Shouldn't be hard at all once you find the part. Most of the knobs in my dash (ford explorer) just have plugs on the back so unplug replace knob plug in. :shrug:

Well you can't even turn the stem with plyers. I've taken off the dash to try and inspect just that. But it's deeper than I want to go in the car and be comfortable.

Rayn
03-23-2009, 04:59 PM
just go to a car parts store and have them sell it to you / order it or search for it online.

Ray
03-23-2009, 05:00 PM
If you can't even turn the stem with plyers, then the problem isn't going to get fixed by slapping a new knob on there.

HelenKeller
03-23-2009, 05:01 PM