Car People: What does Rusty & Bubbly Antifreeze mean?

Pages : [1] 2

Miracle
06-26-2004, 11:32 AM
So my 2001 Mercury Sable w/~45k miles on it had rusty antifreeze when it was changed. (The mechanic also thought it may be bubbly). What does that mean? Keep in mind, I'm no car expert.

It gets below freezing like 2 days out of the year here in Washington, so if antifreeze has anything to do with freezing I don't think my car has been strained very hard.

But it may have been quite some time since the antifreeze got changed, so I'm wondering what rusty/bubbly antifreeze means. Is my engine damaged?

ZurN
06-26-2004, 11:35 AM
IT means the mechanic wants to **** you in the ass

New Account
06-26-2004, 11:37 AM
well, think about this.

Antifreeze goes through all these little bloodvein type things in your engine and then go back to the radiator to get cooled down.

Where would the rust in the antifreeze come from? Perhaps these tiny capilaries in which water flows through cooling the engine? If they get blocked then your engine is toast & u gotta take it apart to clean it.

The mechanics a ****tard if he cares about bubblyness, he drained it out so he has no clue.

iNVAR
06-26-2004, 12:03 PM
it's probably not rust. it's either engine oil or transmission fluid.

check your coolant again before you drive it. if it changed color again, stop driving your car because you'll really **** something up if you don't fix it immediately.

Horatio Balderdash
06-26-2004, 12:08 PM
If the car is overheating then worry about the antifreeze. If not, then don't worry, be happy. Fill it back up and keep driving until the rad springs a leak. Check the coolant level once in a while is all I would do.

I used to drive a Taurus, trust me, your tranny will gay out on you long before your engine will stop running...

edit: Then again, Invar's scenario sounds plausible too. But short of letting the mechanic take the engine apart, how you going to be sure of what's going on?

BeavisNuke