Damn QuikTrip to Hell!

OtisPAB
04-26-2003, 06:21 PM
I went into to QuikTrip (a chain convenience store that just put a location in here) to buy some cigs. They card me, no problem, I'm of age. But the clerk glances at my ID and says he can't sell me cigs with an out-of-state DL. I'm a college student, and not technically a resident here in Texas, so I have no Texas DL. I get pretty agitated and he informs me that it's State Law.

I didn't buy this. If it was actually state law, then tons of places around here break it on a regular basis. So, I decide to hop on the interweb and investigate. Sure enough, I'm correct.

Taken from: http://www.capitol.state.tx.us/statutes/he/he0016100.html#he059.161. 251

161.083. Sale of Cigarettes or Tobacco Products to Persons Younger Than 27 Years of Age

(a) Pursuant to federal regulation under 21 C.F.R. Section 897.14(b), a person may not sell, give, or cause to be sold or given a cigarette or tobacco product to someone who is younger than 27 years of age unless the person to whom the cigarette or tobacco product was sold or given presents an apparently valid proof of identification.

(e) A proof of identification satisfies the requirements of Subsection (d) if it contains a physical description and photograph consistent with the person's appearance, purports to establish that the person is 18 years of age or older, and was issued by a governmental agency. The proof of identification may include a driver's license issued by this state or another state, a passport, or an identification card issued by a state or the federal government.