t-72255 Optimizing your broadband connection tutorial... [Flat] - TribalWar Forums

Optimizing your broadband connection tutorial...

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

DipStick
09-05-2001, 01:09 AM
Warning: This IS long but if you care about your speed, Im sure you'll read on.

I know just a few tricks that are EXTREMELY effective. Also, these are little changes that can be undone just as easily as they are done, which is more than I can say for some of those AutoInstall Registry tweaks you find on the net.

I would never recommend someone download and install one of theose registry tweaks because it ****s with your registry, clogging it all up, and most of the time, it doesnt do a thing to help your speed. Also, you can never be sure what the thing is putting in your registry so removing it is hard as hell.

Anyway, now to the tweaks. These SHOULD work for Win98 and up.

98, ME, 2000, XP-
Download DRTCP.EXE here http://www.dslreports.com/front/DRTCP021.exe

Open it up and choose your NIC card in the dropdown menu. Ok, now for the settings.

RWIN is the MOST IMPORTANT tweak you could possibly make on your PC. Out of the box...your system is set to 8192 RWIN because it is optimized for 56k. Normally for broadband, you want this to be anywhere from 32767 to 65535. If you go any higher than 65535 you will start to get packet loss. So, start with 32767, reboot, and run the speed test at dslreports.com. Log the speed you get, and then set the RWIN to 49152. Reboot, then retake the speed test. If your Speed went up considerably..Great.

Now...change the RWIN to 65535, reboot, and re-test. If the speed STILL went up from the last test, then you can try higher than 65535. Most of the time..it wont get any higher because your bandwidth plateaued. But sometimes...it will still get faster, and thus you need a larger RWIN to take advantage of the phat pipe your on.

However, if you need to go larger than 65535, then you need to turn ON windows scaling. Normally you should choose numbers that are divisible by 8192. Like 8192 X 8=65535.
So, if you need to go larger than 65535, take 8192 X 9 or 10 to get your RWIN. And continue the process.

Windows Scaling- You only need to turn this on if and only if you are using an RWIN higher than 65535. Dont turn this on if you use less than 65535.

Time Stamping- Set to no.

Selective Acks- Choose yes. If your line loses packets, this feature allows you to retransmit ONLY packets that were lost.

Path MTU discovery- Choose yes

Blackhole Discovery- Choose no, you dont want this.

Max Duplicate Acks- Set this to 3. It allows for faster re-transmission of lost packets.

TTL- It isnt a speed tweak but it sets how many HOPS the PC will allow before all the packets sent are erased. So, if you are pinging a server 10 hops away, and your TTL is set to 9, then you will lose all that data, because the server is 1 hop more than your TTL allows. I usually set this to 128.

Max MTU- Set to 1500 if you have a regular connect. If its PPPoe then set it to 1492.

Everything else...just leave it alone.

REBOOT! :)

EDIT: 5/11/03(this threads almost 2 ****ing years old :))

Router Users:
Kryptic made a thread clarifying what router users have to do to switch these settings. You may want to check it out here.
http://www.tribalwar.com/forums/showthread.php?p=4978768# post4978768

I hope that helps some. I have never used a router :)

Noot
09-05-2001, 01:12 AM
plagiarist

DipStick
09-05-2001, 01:14 AM
Sorta...you would be surprised at the amount of people who have no idea how to do this **** though :look:

Noot
09-05-2001, 01:15 AM
aye

DipStick
09-05-2001, 01:20 AM
****...just realized I misspelled Broadband in the topic. I ****ING HATE THAT:ftard:

Noot
09-05-2001, 01:21 AM
k might as well delete and start over

DipStick
09-05-2001, 01:24 AM
tried that :/

MadeInAmericana
09-05-2001, 01:25 AM
how about 56k tweaks?


btw you also misppeled your

DipStick
09-05-2001, 01:27 AM
Originally posted by MadeInAmericana
how about 56k tweaks?


btw you also misppeled your

I dont use 56k or care about you modem humpers. Actually I dont know **** for modem tweaks.

Noot
09-05-2001, 01:30 AM
Originally posted by MadeInAmericana
how about 56k tweaks?


btw you also misppeled your

you misspelled misspelled

Curious_George
09-05-2001, 01:42 AM
Cool, sped me up a good 100 or so kbps :)

SloWBurN
09-05-2001, 02:12 AM
I have a stupid question... if I use WinPoET, does that mean I have a PPPoe?

DipStick
09-05-2001, 02:18 AM
Originally posted by SloWBurN
I have a stupid question... if I use WinPoET, does that mean I have a PPPoe?

Think so...I believe all PPPoe means is that you use software to Login into your Cable/DSL ISP. I myself just have a regular connect so I dunno.

free
09-05-2001, 02:23 AM
Think so...I believe all PPPoe means is that you use software to Login into your Cable/DSL ISP

right.

SloWBurN
09-05-2001, 02:26 AM
Originally posted by DipStick


Think so...I believe all PPPoe means is that you use software to Login into your Cable/DSL ISP. I myself just have a regular connect so I dunno.

Originally posted by Free

right.

Great guys thanks. I kind of wish I didn't have to use WinPoET to log in, but I'm using Earthlink, and they seem to require it. :(

WiZarD
09-05-2001, 02:34 AM
Hey Dip, I just wanted to say you ****in own for givin me that link. I had a similiar program but I guess it wasn't REALLY changing the ****. Before I used this one: Test running..........
** Speed 1899(down)/116(up) kbps **
(At least 88 times faster than a 56k modem)
Finish.

After: Test running..........
** Speed 4425(down)/126(up) kbps **
(At least 89 times faster than a 56k modem)
Finish.

WiZarD
09-05-2001, 02:36 AM
Btw that's @homo cable for all of you that may have asked.

Curious_George
09-05-2001, 02:38 AM
Damn I wish mine would have went up that much :)

WiZarD
09-05-2001, 02:40 AM
That is also on XP for any of you that were wondering. :p

YYZ
09-05-2001, 02:45 AM
Before I go ahead with this tweak. Anything you might comment on about this setup? I'm using a Quest DSL service 250UP 650DOWN ADSL. Cisco 675 Ext. router in PoP mode and I think my Telco has the bandwidth useage bottlenecked at those up and down speeds. Does this tweek over-ride that?

Thanks, DipStick