TW skiiers

Gwaihir

Veteran XX
I have been skiing for several years, usually 3 or 4 times a year on rentals. I have do mostly blues and black diamond runs all along North East.

Since I'm moving to Northern Japan this summer and will be in essentially the best place for skiing in Japan, I figured it was time to get a set of skiis.

Problem is I have no idea what to look for or what to get. I'm 6'2, 200lbs and have been using 160s at the rental.

What should I look for, is the length I'm using a good length?

well for starters you might want to consider just buying it in japan rather than checking it in at the airport because a lot of airlines nowadays charge a buttload extra for oversized items.

some random shit i remember from when i was ski shopping:

- first you need to decide what type of skis; telemark, alpine, x-country, etc. (im guessing ur gonna be downhill skiing though)
- if you're more advanced you can go a little longer on the skis
- make sure the boot size matches up this is critical otherwise you'll regret it, im guessing you know they go by a dif. system by now, but don't use a conversion chart, just try the damn boot on before u buy it

I would keep renting, they have new equipment at most shops. 160 is small for someone 6'2 200lbs.

I'm 5'9 200lbs and they fit me with Soloman 166. I wanted to turn better so I went with 158. The length of the ski is usually from the ground to your chin. Shorter length skis will let you turn better. Longer skis let you go faster. So if you want skis that let you turn on a dime, the 160s will do it, but that's small for your height.