[Iron Chef] My Restaurant's Competition

Ravyn

Veteran XV
Disclaimer: Screw it. Was going to post a shortened version of this, but decided against it. Here it is. Read it, don't read it. I don't care. There's pictures further down if you'd rather just look at those.

For those who don't know. I'm a Chef, have been in the industry for 10 years now. My company is running an Iron Chef competition between our 12 locations. Teams of 3 (2 Cooks who won an inter-restaurant Iron Chef Competition and their Chef) are going up against one another in regional battles currently.

This is a run down of my teams most recent Battle.

My Team = Team 1
The Competition = Team 2

Team 2 consisted of 2 guys, David and Jesse, and one girl, Natalie, all around our age.. early 20's. After introductions were made, Tyler (the host Chef) slipped away into the cooler to grab the secret ingredients. Earlier, he had thrown on 2 giant stock pots of water, claiming he had to cook off some pasta's that were left from his prep cooks. Little did we know...

He emerged from the cooler with 2 big bags in hand. Out onto the counter landed 2 fresh Lobsters, still very much alive as their claws snapped and legs clicked against the stainless steel counter top. Both teams smiled, shocked at their new found friends. These lobsters did not look happy to see us at all, joining the lobsters for the secret ingredient was grapes, red and white seedless grapes.

Welcome to Battle Lobster & Grapes

The Lobsters were placed in their own inserts for each team, and off we went to grab a table in the restaurant and work out our menus. The rules had been revised slightly for the official competitions within the company.

Each team is required to create 3 dishes. An Amuse-Bouche, essentially a finger food, it means 'to amuse the mouth'; An appetizer or dessert; and an Entree.