Anyone have experience being a private tutor?

hyung

Veteran XX
I've been looking around for some extra hours, and I've had some experience working with kids and tutoring (at schools and such) but never one-on-one. Is it a cushy job? Easy?

I'm talking about general advertisements like this:
Math Tutor Needed
Reply to: job-566598041@craigslist.org
Date: 2008-02-07, 3:33PM HST

Need a math tutor to help my 17 year old son. Afternoon, evenings and weekends preferable. Please reply with qualifications, previous experience, location and rates. Thank you.

what kind of rates would you charge? $10?

553px-Lol_que.jpg

I've been looking around for some extra hours, and I've had some experience working with kids and tutoring (at schools and such) but never one-on-one. Is it a cushy job? Easy?

I'm talking about general advertisements like this:

what kind of rates would you charge? $10?

Tutors are expensive. A coworker of mine that tutors charges $40/hour (bear in mind it's only a couple hours a week, but still).

$30/hr for English tutoring. I'm employed by my school's writing center and have done a little private work on the side.

Edit: It's easy if you know what you're doing and your students are willing to listen to and work with you.

$30/hr for English tutoring. I'm employed by my school's writing center and have done a little private work on the side.

Edit: It's easy if you know what you're doing and your students are willing to listen to and work with you.

i'm more interested in your private work, what kind of experience did you have going in?

what year student are you/what major? what are you doing with your school's writing center

i'm working on campus tutoring calc but i'm only getting 9.50, its a bullshit tutoring job really.