Does anyone own their cable modem?

Yankee

Veteran XX
I pay $4.99 a month to rent a modem from Comcast, which is pretty ridiculous when you consider I've been doing it for 5 years.

Does Comcast even allow you to own your own?

In belgium you are supposed to buy one. But they are pretty cheap.

Damn Comcast is been ripping you off.

Just go buy one from Best Buy and hook it up Yankee. I have no idea if Comcast will have an issue with this but it is possible.

Anji, your country has EXCELLENT waffles.
istockphoto_2916934_belgian_waffles_up_close_and_personal.jpg

My brother-in-law used to have a sick modem from Comcast. I'm thinking it was supposed to be an in-house modem that got mixed up with the modems in rotation, but regardless he would get like 200 kb/s down on popular torrents by default, and would usually be closer to 600-800 kb/s just on a regular subscription. Not sure what the extra hardware in it was, but I wish I could get one.

My brother-in-law used to have a sick modem from Comcast. I'm thinking it was supposed to be an in-house modem that got mixed up with the modems in rotation, but regardless he would get like 200 kb/s down on popular torrents by default, and would usually be closer to 600-800 kb/s just on a regular subscription. Not sure what the extra hardware in it was, but I wish I could get one.

They just put a cap on how much you can download in the modem.

you confuse me

on a 7mbit down connection I'll get 200 kb/s down rarely even on a good torrent with plenty of seeds. If I'm extremely lucky I'll get 400 kb/s and higher. with the cable modem my brother in law had (before it was stolen) he would get at least 200 kb/s down. At least, even on torrents that weren't the greatest quality.

this leads me to believe your speed test would probably be at least 1.5x faster than 6359 kb/s and probably closer to 1.8x+ if you were using one of these "unlocked" modems.

I don't know exactly how torrents work, but it's sound reasoning.