t-493453 Swimming [Flat] - TribalWar Forums

Swimming

Excommunicated
06-23-2007, 07:15 PM
So now that it is summer and I am getting my tan, I need to start getting into shape. I've never tried swimming before, but it sounds like it would get you in great shape. My college has an olympic pool to swim laps at. I am wondering if anyone else here swims for exercise?

How often should you swim? Once a day? What about hitting the gym? Alternating days?

I have a regular swimsuit and a pair of good goggles. That's all you need right?

I played competitive soccer year round for 10 years but want to try something besides runnig.

BeLiaL
06-23-2007, 08:39 PM
What are your goals? Are you trying to get into shape so that you are healthy or just trying to look good for the ladies?

DillingerEscp
06-23-2007, 08:47 PM
Yeah, it depends on your goals really.

Swimming is amazing for general health.
My favorite thing to do for cardio, and the easiest for HIIT... I just do one lap all out, and then 2 laps slow and easy, then 1 lap all out, etc etc.

Excommunicated
06-23-2007, 10:42 PM
HIIT?

My goal is really to be good looking for the ladies. I just want a tight body and upper body strength. My legs are in great shape, always have been. But with all the drinking and smoking college has brought on coupled with my metabolism slowing down I've probably put on 5 lbs of fat. I don't want to be huge, but slim and toned.. I am not sure if swimming builds muscle or just cuts off fat? I really can't stand the gym at my school, bunch of frat boys who socialize 80% of the time, and it's packed full of them.

schmidty091
06-24-2007, 11:06 AM
I know someone who was fat as **** until they joined the swim team. They were skinny about halfway through the season.

sheex
06-24-2007, 11:00 PM