[Online] Gaming in the Future

OneManArmy

Veteran XV
I searched the database and I am pretty sure this isn't OFN.

How would you guys feel about subliminal advertising in video games? I am currently a student at Kelley School of Business (IU) and we were just assigned to come up with a marketing plan for a developing business. Details are below.

This is the future of online gaming (PC and console). Major television companies have recognized that there is an untouched audience (ages 18 to 34) who aren’t watching TV like they used to. With young and old people starting to shift over to other methods of entertainment, advertisers are looking to follow.

One such company, Massive Incorporated, noticed an untouched market of advertising in video games. Basically think of an advertisement in a game that changes every time you play it.
About Massive
Massive IncorporatedSM is the world’s first Video Game Network.
By aggregating the largest audience of gamers and delivering real-time advertising across top-selling video games, Massive provides publishers and developers with additional profit per unit shipped for their titles and gives advertisers the opportunity to effectively market to the gaming audience.
Massive is backed by DFJ Gotham, DFJ New England, RRE Ventures, NeoCarta Ventures, Tobat Capital and Newlight Associates. The company is based in New York City with offices in Los Angeles, San Francisco, Europe and Asia/Pacific.
Massive Incorporated - In Game Advertising

How it works:
Below you will see a diagram of how Massive works. Basically they will have their own server that will upload an advertisement to the gamer’s console. They have been working on this product since 2000 and supposedly have found a way to create advertisements in game without creating any sort of lag. (I thought resizing would make the following images to hard to read)

number1a.jpg

What they are already doing:
Below is another diagram of what they are already thinking about doing.