Newbie Linux question...

BlueCream

Veteran X
So I got Mandrake 10.1 running on my crap box and im trying to figure out how to get my sound working. My old shitty integrated sound on my motherboard crapped out a while back and I bought a soundblaster audigy mp3+ usb card which was working fine with windows.

Now ive been reading around various linux beginner sites and from what I gathered I have to compile my own kernel and enable snd_usb_audio drivers and update the soundblaster drivers. This is sort of out of the question for me since im just starting out with linux and I have no clue how to compile my own kernel. Ive heard from a few different people that its quite simple but from searching around and reading over the HOWTO: Kernel-Build, there is no way I can do that with alot of experience in using linux in general. I didnt think just getting sound would be such a fucking hassle and am already about to give up.

Just wondering if there is a simpler way to update drivers for the usb card. As of now ive disabled the integrated sound in the BIOS and linux is detecting the card as an "unknown hardware device". This is what shows in the hardware display:

Code:
Identification
Description: ‎

Media class: ‎Audio|Control Device

Connection
Bus: ‎USB

Bus PCI #: ‎2

PCI device #: ‎2

Vendor ID: ‎1054

Device ID: ‎12304

Misc
Module: ‎snd-usb-audio

Any help is greatly appreciated and I will paypal 20$ to the person who gets it working within a reasonable amount of time.

modprobe snd-usb-audio

try that while you are root.

go to the command line and trype

su
enter password:
modprobe snd-usb-audio

Give any error messages here.

Reading into different linux distros Ive heard how great ubuntu driver support is from plenty of people, but I also heard mandrake is the best(free) linux distro for first timers. Ive found mandrake to be pretty newbie friendly and this is the only problem ive run into so far.