TW Financial Planning $$$

link_

Veteran X
I am a college student at present with very little income. I work an on-campus job and make enough to pay for gas, food, and other "essentials." This is fine with me while I am in school because room/board, the majority of my food, and the like is all taken care of.

However, this summer I will be working full-time and maybe even working part time at another job. I will have to pay for food, car insurance, gas, and other things I might need (clothes, detergent, etc).

What I am wondering about is: How should I handle my money?

I figured something like:
10% -- general savings
10% -- investments (don't have any but I would like to start investing now)
10% -- saving toward a new car

that leaves me with 70% of what I earn to go toward:
food
car insurance
gas
other things

Do you think this is a good plan? How much do you think food, car insurance, gas, ect is going to cost? (BTW im 19 and I would be driving maybe 30-40 miles a day.) I guess I am just wondering if you guys think this is a good budget (although not detailed as of yet), or do you think I will be "investment poor" ? I don't want to be strapped for money because I am investing/saving too much, but at the same time, I don't want to have too much disposable income that I will waste it on something stupid.

A related topic: Should I get a credit card with a $500 limit or something low from the bank I use? I want to establish and build credit for later on in life. I would use it to pay for gas mainly and I would pay it off in-full at the end of each month. Good Idea/Bad Idea?

cookiemonster.jpg

i would ignore investing at this point unless your offered some sort of 401k plan by your job in which that would be the only investing i would do.

Save more than that.

Get the CC but be goddamned sure you can pay it ALL off every month or you'll fuck yourself.

Maven said: