Have you ever lost a toenail/fingernail?

brakums

Contributor
Veteran X
Last week, I was doing construction work and I was prying up a subfloor board and as it came up it went into the air and landed on my toe (big toe/right foot). The next day, laying down more subfloor, ANOTHER piece landed on my toe. The same toe. Needless to say, it hurt.

Now this is not what I do for a living. It's just a source of income while in between jobs, so I'm not all TOO prepared. I SHOULD have been wearing steel-toed boots or something.

I've been keeping my eye on it, keeping it clean, changing the dressing, re-applying antibiotic and just tonight the nail was REALLY loose and came off. Oddly enough, it didn't hurt.

So I ask, have you ever lost a toenail/fingernail dur to something?

yes, i stubbed it repeatedly in my ski boot, it turned black, I was doing a martial arts test and it ripped up inbetween the mats, it fell off completley. Then it grew back and dug in hardcore to my skin, so I had to get it pulled out again by my dad whos a doctor.

Its good now.

toe1.jpg

toe2.jpg

toe3.jpg

toe4.jpg

toe5.jpg

toe6.jpg

toe7.jpg

toe8.jpg

i wish the later pics hadn't come out so damn blurry. its hard to tell on the lil LCD :(

Yes, I lost my big toe nail when I was 6 or 7 while playing at a play-ground barefoot.

Took me a few years to work up the will to go barefoot at the playground again, if I remember correctly.

Mafo said:
what did you pour on it?
antibacterial crap?
hydrogen peroxide, it fizzes up all groovy. that's why i took pics :)

btw, its so fucking weird when you don't have a nail. the skin underneath has never directly felt things before (obviously its always been through the nail), so the toe is super sensitive, especially to things like heatness and coldness.