Wide-Screen DVD problem

Breadman86

Veteran XX
I'm new to the DVD stuff, just transfered from the VHS arena a month or so ago. So here is my question/comment/rant/whatever...

I prefer to view movies in wide screen, which is why whenever I rent and/or buy a movie, i make sure its widescreen. Sadly, my TV is not widescreen, its square. I kind of expected my movies to have big black streaks on the bottom and top, so I could view the whole wide-screen movie... but no. Instead it fits the entire movie in the square, by squishing the whole thing together. Any idea how to fix this or is it fixable?

I have a flat screen Sony Trinitron (36 inch) and a new Samsung DVD player... not sure the make, its pretty new though.

I dunno...maybe try reading the DVD manual (I know I know). Make sure it's set for 4x3 and not 16x9 I guess.

Did you set up your DVD player correctly, i.e. tell it that you have a 4x3 TV set and not 16x9?

edit: dammit, foiled again!

The SVCDs I've burned of widescreen movies all have the black and show the full wide-screen... but none of the DVDs do. Don't get it =P

VonTed said:
Did you set up your DVD player correctly, i.e. tell it that you have a 4x3 TV set and not 16x9?

edit: dammit, foiled again!

lol, I just plugged it in and played and it worked. first DVD I had wasn't wide-screen so I just assumed it worked. Maybe I should look at the manual? :)

Start looking through the samsung's menus. I'll bet money that that thing thinks its hooked up to a widescreen (as others have posulated. This constitutes agreement with them).

FAILING that, see if there is something honked with your input cords. The signal might be getting 'corked.

"16:9 mode compresses all lines of resolution into the 16:9 letterbox during widescreen DVD playback, rather than using them to display black bars"

-Sony WEGA Trinitron 36" monitor

Chances are the DVD player just doesn't like it. Turn it off through the TV.

VonTed said: