ack did i just ruin a job offer??

Inspin

Veteran X
as some of you may have read my work is closing..and i was asked to relocate..but I wanted to stay in my area..

i interviewed at United Health Group on friday at 12:30
they had a voice mail for me at 1:25 (before i got home) i asked them to call me at home on monday anytime after 11...HR called me at 11:01 and offered me 42.5k a year...2.5k more than i was making before...i asked them for 45k a year and immediate tutition reimbursement.. is that a valid thing to ask for? I dont think they'' retract their offer or anything..but ..anyone here in HR? or have experience with negotiating with them have a guess as to what they'll do?

kinda nervous since I have never tried to negotiate with HR before..my current job gave me 5k more a year than i asked for..

hmm

I've never had to negotiate before either, but from what I understand that sounds about right. As long as you don't ask for something very outrageous... although that tuition reimbursement thing might be outrageous. How much is tuition?

hmm, i hope they gimme the extra 2.5 a year,

the tuiton isnt much honestly i think it was $2,000 a year

a friend just mentioned they may offer me 6 months at 42.5 and a raise to 45k if my work is good

so that would work

It don't hurt to try (usally)

or you do what they WANT you to do and take that pay hoppin for a raise. I did that .. I still ain't gotta raise :(

Looks like they went to the next candidate. Someone who was more of a team player, and a little less self-centered and greedy.

Or maybe not. They'll probably call you back and counteroffer; it actually costs a company money to run you through the entire interview/offering/hiring process. They usually don't mess around. $2k/year is nothing to a company.

Take whatever they counteroffer, though. Don't string them along.