t-119810 Xp [Flat] - TribalWar Forums

Xp

Pages : [1] 2

MuLLeTarD
03-22-2002, 08:00 PM
should i install it? im running windows 98 (se i think), but i dont want to reformat and ****.

Bashar
03-22-2002, 08:05 PM
I am using Xp now. I did have to screw with some stuff when I just did a upgrade on my old HD. But on my new drive I did it from start and everything works well. I still am not sure if my games work any better in Xp then 98 ( I got a new video card at the same time and they all look good now :). But, the windows part works well. The main reason I upgraded is I have a digital8 camcorder that I DL video to my HD and edit it. And that kinda **** works better in XP.

MuLLeTarD
03-22-2002, 08:08 PM
do you know if everything will work fine if i just go from 98 to xp? like all the files and **** working.

MuLLeTarD
03-22-2002, 08:18 PM
:[

Xaphan
03-22-2002, 08:30 PM
I don't think anyone will recommend an upgrade, but I've done it before and it works ok...I did it to my uncle's machine, but I would never do it to my own :/

MuLLeTarD
03-22-2002, 08:31 PM
Originally posted by Xaphan
I don't think anyone will recommend an upgrade, but I've done it before and it works ok...I did it to my uncle's machine, but I would never do it to my own :/

yeah well, im not exactly a performance nazi, i just want to know if everything will run fine

Quiet!!!
03-22-2002, 08:33 PM
Originally posted by MuLLeTarD
should i install it? im running windows 98 (se i think), but i dont want to reformat and ****.

Myth - you need to reformat to install a new OS.

Truth:

Reboot - hit F8 - DOS safe mode.

c:
del .
deltree c:\windows
Install XP - convert to new file system.

Programs and games:

For each install - 'move' to a backup directory - fresh install - move back original files - all configs, etc saved.

All done. :D

MuLLeTarD
03-22-2002, 08:35 PM
you see here, im a dumbass, and uh what do you mean by a backup directory?

Quiet!!!
03-22-2002, 08:50 PM
Make a backup folder and move the program's directories to it.

MuLLeTarD
03-22-2002, 08:50 PM
:\

E Dicted.
03-22-2002, 08:50 PM
[banned]

MuLLeTarD
03-22-2002, 08:52 PM
Originally posted by Quiet!!!
Make a backup folder and move the program's directories to it.


do i have to? it says i could just install over it, or would that be murder? ;]

Golgac
03-22-2002, 08:52 PM
things that make you go hmmmmmmmmmmm

Bashar
03-22-2002, 08:53 PM
When you start the upgrade it will run a system check of your programs and give a list of programs that you will have problems with. I had 3 programs that it said I would have problems with. But, those 3 programs were kinda outdated and they had new ver. that I had to DL, then they worked fine.

Oh ya...it will ask you to upgrade or do a clean install. I tried a clean install first. All that did was install Xp on my HD so now I had a choice of XP or 98 to run. Clean install is if you have a new or clean HD.

Durak
03-22-2002, 08:53 PM
BAN BAN BAN BAN

MuLLeTarD
03-22-2002, 08:54 PM
okay

i think i might go through with it then. thanks people.

Quiet!!!
03-22-2002, 08:54 PM
Originally posted by MuLLeTarD



do i have to? it says i could just install over it, or would that be murder? ;]

I think you should call Microsoft Tech-Support.

Quiet!!!
03-22-2002, 09:48 PM
Originally posted by YourG/F'sLover
Ban that *******!!!!!!!

?

Quiet!!!
03-22-2002, 09:54 PM
Oh.

YourG/F'sLover
03-22-2002, 09:54 PM
ok he got banned, heh.